Warner hits fourth fastest Test hundred

PERTH: Australian opener David Warner scored his second Test hundred on the opening day of the third Test match against India here at the WACA on Friday.

He was unbeaten on 104 when the first day’s play ended.

Warner reached his hundred off 69 balls and did it in style, clouting debutant paceman Vinay Kumar for his third six of the innings.

The prodigious hit was the second-quickest ton at Perth’s WACA Ground, behind Adam Gilchrist’s 57-ball blitz against England in 2006.

Overall, this was the fourth fastest hundred in Test cricket and Warner shared it with Shivnarine Chanderpaul of West Indies.

Here is a list of ten fastest Test centuries:

56 – Viv Richards (West Indies) v England, 1986, St John’s
57 – Adam Gilchrist (Australia) v England, 2006, Perth
67 – Jack Gregory (Australia) v South Africa, 1921, Johannesburg
69 – Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies) v Australia 2003, Georgetown
69 – David Warner (Australia) v India, 2012, Perth
70 – Chris Gayle (West Indies) v Australia, 2010, Perth
71 – Roy Fredericks (West Indies) v Australia, 1975, Perth
74 – Majid Khan (Pakistan) v New Zealand, 1976, Karachi
74 – Kapil Dev (India) v Sri Lanka, 1986, Kanpur
74 – Mohd Azharuddin (India) v South Africa, 1996, Kolkata


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here